Thursday, October 30, 2008

Cabinet shuffle

Prime Minister Stephen Harper made a major cabinet shuffle today, including (major appointments only):

  • Lawrence Cannon to Foreign Affairs
  • Tony Clement to Industry
  • Jim Prentice to Environment
  • John Baird to Transport
  • Jim Flaherty remains in Finance
  • Peter MacKay remains in Defence
  • Gail Shea got the Fisheries Ministry
  • Lisa Raitt becomes the natural resources minister
  • Stockwell Day to International Trade
  • Peter Van Loan to Public Safety
  • Jason Kenney to Citizenship and Immigration
  • James Moore takes over Heritage
  • Rona Ambrose to Minister of Labour
  • Diane Finley to Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development
  • Rob Nicholson to Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
  • Greg Thompson to Minister of Veterans Affairs
  • Chuck Strahl to Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians
  • Vic Toews to President of the Treasury Board
  • Gregory Francis Thompson to Minister of Veterans Affairs


Jean-Pierre Blackburn moves from Labour to National Revenue and Senator Marjorie LeBreton remains as Government leader in the Senate.

The cabinet also includes seven Ministers of State, who are sworn to the Privy Council and are allowed to participate in some cabinet committee meetings.

That list includes Helena Guergis for Status of Women; Diane Ablonczy for Small Business and Tourism; Rob Merrifield for Transport; Lynne Yelich for Western Economic Development; Steven Fletcher for Democratic Reform; Gary Goodyear for Science and Technology; Denis Lebel for Quebec economic development; Keith Ashfield for Atlantic regional development and Peter Kent for Foreign Affairs (Americas).

Full cabinet here.

No comments:

Post a Comment